The Maastricht Treaty Was An Agreement Among

In a rapidly changing political climate, following the fall of the Berlin Wall and the demise of the Iron Curtain, the need to give new impetus to political union has become increasingly evident. That is why two intergovernmental conferences were convened at the European Council in Dublin in June 1990, one on economic and monetary union and the other on political union. These conferences were opened on December 15, 1990. A year later, in December 1991, the Maastricht European Council reached an agreement on the new treaty. The Treaty on the European Union was signed on 28 February 1992 and came into force on 1 November 1993, after being ratified by all Member States. Title I, common provisions, establishes the European Union (EU) on the basis of the three European Communities already partially merged: the European Economic Community (EEC), the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC) and the European Atomic Energy Community (Euratom). It confirms that one of its objectives is the joint introduction of EU citizenship for nationals of Member States; “Economic and monetary union, including, ultimately, a single currency”; and “a common foreign and security policy, including the final organisation of a common defence.” [3] The Maastricht Treaty, officially known as the Treaty on the European Union, is the international agreement that is responsible for the creation of the European Union (EU), signed in 1991 and entered into force in 1993. The European Union (EU) is a group of 28 countries that acts as a cohesive economic and political bloc. Nineteen countries use the euro as their official currency. After “deciding to continue the process of creating an ever closer union between the peoples of Europe,” the treaty proposes “further steps to be taken to advance European integration”[2] under seven titles.

Through the creation of a common market and an economic and monetary union and through the implementation of common policies, the Community`s mission is now more to promote, throughout the Community, harmonious and balanced economic development, sustainable and non-inflationary growth respectful of the environment, a high level of convergence of economic performance, a high level of employment and social protection. , improving living standards and quality of life, as well as economic and social cohesion and solidarity among Member States.